Get Adobe Flash player

ISTAF SUPERSERIES 2013 in New Delhi ( INDIA ) 

(August 29- Sept 1, 2013)

ISS 2013 New Delhi ISS 2013 New Delhi ISS 2013 New Delhi ISS 2013 New Delhi ISS 2013 New Delhi ISS 2013 New Delhi ISS 2013 New Delhi

ISTAF Secretary-General Dato' Abdul Halim (third from right) presents a sepaktakraw ball to India’s  Sepaktakraw  Federation  Secretary-General, Yogender Singh  Dahiya  at the press conference in New Delhi yesterday. Looking on are Sepaktakraw Federation of India Deputy President M. Dovendra (far left), Vice-President Jay Kumar, UFA Sports Asia Managing Director Jeff Chue (second from right) and UFA Sports Asia Project Consultant Venu Ramadass. 

India’s  sports-loving fans will get to witness the  acrobatic acts of  SepakTakraw players when the opening round of the ISTAF SuperSeries 2013 is held in New Delhi, India  from August 29- Sept 1,2013. 

ISTAF secretary-general Dato’ Abdul Halim Kader, who announced this at a press conference yesterday at the Press Club of India, said the game of sepaktakraw is gaining popularity in India since it was first introduced as a demonstration sport in the 1982 Asian Games and was telecast live on Indian television.

“There is so much of excitement in this game and a real challenge. The nations competing in this tournament earned themselves valuable ranking points, and, while Thailand still top both the men’s and women’s rankings, the other nations are gradually making big gains,” said Abdul Kader.

“We thank the Sepaktakraw Federation of India for organising the first round which speaks volumes in their efforts to promote the game to a wider segment of society especially in schools, colleges and universities.”

Among the dignitaries present at the press conference were UFA Sports Asia managing director, Jeff Chue, Project Consultant Venu Ramadass and the secretary-general of the Sepaktakraw Federation of India, Yogender Singh Dahiya.

Defending champions Thailand lead the challenge in the 12-team men’s category. The Thais will be joined by Malaysia, South Korea, Indonesia, Singapore, Japan, Brunei, Philippines, India, United States, Myanmar and Iran. In the eight-team women’s division, the formidable Thais have for company Vietnam, Malaysia, South Korea, Japan, Indonesia, China and India.